Downtown Detroit: Midwest Urban Oasis – Detroit, MI

Doug goes to Detroit quite a bit on business and he’s always telling me how much he loves the city, so we decided to use one of our Marriott vouchers for a weekend away. I’m not going to lie, I was super skeptical. Detroit has gotten a bad rep from all directions, but you know what? It’s all so misleading.

I was blown away by this beautiful city full of some of the friendliest people in the Midwest. It is cool, vibrant, trendy, and just a little gritty. All in the most surprising and amazing ways. We had some phenomenal food, strolled through up and coming neighborhoods, explored areas that are finding new ways to bring some smiles to hard hit neighborhoods, and made so many great new connections. I honestly can’t wait to go back so that I can see more of this great city.

I’ve added some links to Yelp pages in the images so you can plan your own Detroit summer escape.

Leave a Reply

